Posted in Souvenirs, Study Abroad

Willem-Alexander Before He Was King

Earlier today Prince Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands became King and his wife Maxima became Queen after his mother, Beatrix, stepped down from the throne after serving for 33 years. It was while I was studying in Utrecht, Netherlands that I first encountered the new King and his Queen.

willem-alexander

Willem-Alexander and Maxima came to Utrecht on their tour of the country following the announcement of the engagement of the future King to the Argentinian economist. The city donned its orange (the color of the royals – House of Orange) and Dutch flags. A parade was planned and the newly engaged couple would greet their people.

parade

Despite my great spot on a rock in a square on the parade route, I hadn’t come prepared with my camera. I remember seeing just their heads and waving arms and hands above the tops of the large crowd. A friend took the photo of me in my spot to mark the day.

back of cupMonths later in a Christmas grab-bag, I was the lucky recipient of a mug commemorating the engagement.

Congratulations to the new King and his Queen!

Leave a Reply

